Please Pass the Salt

I was struggling….struggling with life.  I wasn’t so sure about where I was at and what I was doing.  I went to God about it and decided rather than worry about it, I would choose to show His love to those around me where I was and with what I was doing.  Everyday, every where, all day long, where ever I went I would pray, “Dear God, help me to show Your love to somebody who needs it.”  Walked into Wal-mart, “Dear God, help me to show Your love to somebody who needs it.”  Walked into the grocery store, “Dear God, help me to….”  ALL THE TIME.  OVER AND OVER.

After about a week I wasn’t struggling quite so much.  I was thinking about other people.  And then one day shortly after that, while casting someone for orthotics, the patient said, “You have such a tender kindness about you.”  I was so glad she was laying on her stomach looking the other way.  I knew she would not understand the tears of joy in my eyes.  I was being His salt…and He was so generous as to validate my efforts.

I believe God was giving me enough experience to “hang on” when the real testing times arrived.  I don’t always get the validation.  Sometimes I just have to walk by faith and keep on walking.  And I know others don’t always get the validation.   And some people may never get that validation.  Getting the validation or not does not mean we are more or less His salt.  I trust He will prepare us for our future that He knows is coming and will not test us beyond that which we can withstand.  I also believe that all things are possible through Christ.  He can empower us for our life if we just keep walking the walk and talking with Him.  And I believe He fulfills our every need.  If you need validation today, ask Him for it, then open your eyes believing He will provide.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

