Where ARE You?

“My God, My God, why have You forsaken Me?  Why are You so far from helping Me, and from the words of My groaning?  O My God, I cry in the daytime, but You do not hear; and in the night season and am not silent.” 

That was my Savior crying out to His Father as prophesied by David.  True of all prophecies of God, it came to pass.  Christ called out those words in heart-breaking pain while hanging on the cross.  “Where are You?  Why have You left me?”

But we’ll keep reading in Psalm 22.  Verse 3 “But, You are Holy.”  Verse 21 “You have answered Me.”  Verse 24 “For He has not despised nor abhorred the affliction of the afflicted; Nor has He hidden His face from Him; but when He cried to Him, He heard.”

There are a lot of capital letters in those verses.  It appears to be a conversation between and about two members of the Trinity.  God and His Son.  Working it out.  The way it looks to me, Christ felt forsaken.  But He continued on in faith believing in the goodness of His Father.

“Thank You, God, that we are not asked to walk down any path where Christ has not already left His footsteps.  Thank You that You give us the privilege of “working it out” with You.  Thank You for asking us to come and reason with You.  I know it must look like a toddler trying to “work it out” with their parent.  But You’ve come to patiently listen and give Your hand to guide.  Thank You that no matter how it feels, no matter how gray the sky or how thick the ceiling seems to be, You are Holy and You hear.”

Next Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Lori Harvey

     /  February 6, 2011

    It is good that Christ has already walked that road. I also cling to the thought that He understands that I might not always “get it” as well as He did, have the faith that He did, or be patient like He was. Luckily, the answer to the question “Does He love me anyway?” is YES!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

