DIY Salvation

When we lived in Wyoming, we spent a lot of winter evenings watching DIY.  It sparked creativity, excited the imagination and developed dreams.  Once we came to Nebraska, the viewing preference was generally The Food Network.  The projects required less energy, and I suppose it sparked hope in my husband that he’d find something his chemo taste buds would enjoy.  And, he was good at it.  Hidden talent exposed.  I think in heaven he’ll work in the kitchen as a chef.  He’ll be the one adding the spices.

Most of us like to think we can do things ourselves.  It starts pretty young.  “Let me help you tie your shoes.”  “No! I can do it myself.”  Harmless enough to let them try.  “Let me help you cut that cheese.”  “No!  I can do it myself.”  Hmm… maybe not so harmless. 

“Let me improve myself enough so You’ll love me enough to save me, God.”  Eternal disaster happening right there.

God says, “If I be lifted up, I will draw all men unto Me.” 

God says, “While you were enemies with Me, I loved you.”

God says, “I gave that you might receive.”

God says, “Abide in Me and My words abide in you.”

God says, “By beholding Me, you will become changed.”

God says, “I will finish the work I started in you.”

He is, indeed, the author and finisher of our salvation.  Of all the things I might be able to accomplish in life with hard work and determination, saving myself is not one of them.  DIY salvation isn’t possible.

“Dear God, Thank You for loving me in whatever condition I come to You in.  And thank You for loving me too much to leave me that way.  I want to behold You today.”

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

