Try Me

“Examine me, O Lord, and test me;  Try my mind and my heart.”  Psalm 26:2

Really, David?  Are you sure?  I’ve heard some stories, King.  Forgetful today?  Maybe I could remind you of a few things?   Remember that whole Bathsheba thing?  Yeah, that one.   I’m thinkin’ you had some thoughts in that mind of yours that weren’t so pure right about then.  And your heart… well, it took you down a bad road, I’d say.  Are you sure you want the Lord Almighty to test and try you?

 “For Your loving kindness is before my eyes,  And I have walked in Your truth.”  Psalm 26:3

Hmmm… a qualifier.  And a good one.  One David was willing to bet his eternal life on.   God’s loving kindness.  The kindness that throws our sins into the depths of the sea.  His kindness that removes our iniquity as far as the east is from the west.  Last I heard, they don’t meet.  And God’s truth.  His truth that says He paid the price.  His truth that says His life covers David’s and mine if we but ask. 

“Dear God Almighty, thank You for Your unfathomable loving kindness.  May it fill my soul.  And may the light of Your truth illuminate my entire being.  May the peace that You bring allow me to both lie down and rest, secure in You alone as sinful but forgiven King David did.”

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

