My Rock Garden

I was about 5 years old.  My dad was a pastor and we moved a lot when I was young.  I remember how old I was based on what house we were in.  We were living in Sequim, WA.  We never moved from a house without leaving a new or larger garden plot.  My dad still enjoys gardening.  This particular place had LOTS of rocks.  The “vegetable garden” was more of a rock garden.  The ground was terrible.  And my dad was determined.  I don’t remember how the ground was broken initially.  That detail escapes me.  But I do remember all the rocks that got turned up.  It was a family project to go pick the rocks out of the garden.  We were loading them into a wheelbarrow which then got dumped into a pile away from the garden plot.  I distinctly recall one particular rock.  I decided I was going to be the one to move that rock.  I recall hearing numerous protests from those around me that the rock was too big and I was too small.  I shouldn’t be moving that rock.  But… alas… I’m like my dad in some respects.  I was going to move that rock! And my dad…is a wise man.  He quietly stood by, patiently watching me, and said, “Let her do it.”  And I did.  I picked that rock up.  And I carried that rock.  And I set it in the wheelbarrow- right on top of my finger.  And I howled.  That hurt!  And my dad got me a bag of ice and I fell asleep in the chair, ice on my hand and dog by my side.  The nail fell off as I recall.  It was a big rock.  Too big for a small person like me. 

What did I learn?  I learned some rocks are too big for me.  Some rocks are still too big for me.  And I have learned the “garden spot” in my heart has a lot of rocks.  They are all too big for me.  They slip through my hands and smash my finger every time I try to do it myself.  God’s Word tells us how to deal with “rocks” in Ephesians 6.

10 Finally, my brethren, be strong in the Lord and in the power of His might. 11 Put on the whole armor of God, that you may be able to stand against the wiles of the devil. 12 For we do not wrestle against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this age, against spiritual hosts of wickedness in the heavenly places. 13 Therefore take up the whole armor of God, that you may be able to withstand in the evil day, and having done all, to stand.  14 Stand therefore, having girded your waist with truth, having put on the breastplate of righteousness, 15 and having shod your feet with the preparation of the gospel of peace; 16 above all, taking the shield of faith with which you will be able to quench all the fiery darts of the wicked one. 17 And take the helmet of salvation, and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God; 18 praying always with all prayer and supplication in the Spirit, being watchful to this end with all perseverance and supplication for all the saints.

God tells us how to deal with rocks.  He tells us to equip ourselves with the right tools- His truth, His righteousness, study of His Word, believing all that He has done and will do for us because of His great love and sacrifice on our behalf.  In Him we can be strong.

Dear God, I ask for Your tools, Your strength, Your wisdom and Your presence in my rock garden today.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

