Formula For Life

a² + b² = c².  Gotta love math.  I always did in school.  It wasn’t the topic that intrigued me the most.  But I knew if I followed the rules I’d get the right answer.  I really didn’t care why the formula was true.  I just believed it was and went about solving the problems.  Puzzles.  Sometimes it was a puzzle deciding which formula to apply.  But a solution was certain.

Then came “Problems in Biological Sciences”.  That required some application of logic.  If X, and If Y, Then Z.  Explain your logic in some fancy shmancy essay, and you’ve got the grade.  It required a little more thought and creativity, but very doable.

Then came LIFE.  Why can’t life be like math?  “God, I want to enroll in Your school.  I want to be a student in the Becoming Like Christ College.”  

“OK.  Here’s your check sheet.  Complete these courses and you graduate.  Specific instructions on what to do in each course will be handed out as you enter the courses.”

Black and white.  Easy to know what is expected in black and white.  Living with free will in a world of principles is not black and white.  The Bible tells us to be patient.  How long does that mean?  The Bible tells us to be generous.  How much is that?    The Bible says we’ll hear a voice behind us saying “This is the way, walk in it.”  Does that mean I’ll hear a voice telling me “This is the way to salvation”?  Or will there also be a voice telling me “This is the way to conduct business today”?  Or, “This is the way to spend your vacation this year”?  Or, “This is the pet for you”?  Or how about, “This is the way to wear your hair today”? 

Sometimes my daughter asks me how she should wear her hair.  I might vote on one of her ideas to amuse her, but really it doesn’t matter.  Both options she suggests are equally good.  It’s not that one is good and one is bad.  They are just different.  Same with what color of shirt she should wear.  What color of shirt would she like to wear?  It really doesn’t matter to me.  Whichever one makes her happy from the ones she has in her closet is good with me.  Does God feel the same way about some of the things for me in my life?  Does He look at me and say, “You know, what would you like to do today?  Either option you’re talking about sounds good to Me.  You can be a light for Me either way.”

I don’t have all the answers to the formula for life.  The more I live, the more I realize I don’t know much, so I suspect I’ll be trying to solve it for the rest of my years.  However, I know the Bible provides the answers for the formula for Life – Eternal Life.  And we can be sure we have that answer “right”.  No need for doubt.  “These things I have written to you who believe in the name of the Son of God, that you may know that you have eternal life, and that you may continue to believe in the name of the Son of God.”  1 John 5:13.  Of all the things we might be left to wonder about here on this earth, our security in the life to come is not one that need be left to question.

“Thank You, Lord, for the promises in Your word that allow us to rest assured in Your saving grace that will bring us eternal life.  Thank You for the ways You guide as we try to live a life pleasing to You on this very foggy planet.”

Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

