Going Home

I’m going home tomorrow.  Going to see my mom and dad and siblings.  It’s not where I grew up.  And the dynamics have changed.  But I’m sure we’ll stay up to all hours of the night discussing the pros and cons of the different doors leading off of this hallway I find myself in.  We’ll discuss the mysteries of life, the will of God, and the latest thing their dogs have been doing.  It will be good.  But it’s not home.

In a few weeks I hope to see some friends in Wyoming.  I love the landscape and friends are there who have walked through some bumps in the road with me.  We’ll probably stay up too late at night talking about the errors of modern medicine, the frustration with Medicare, practice management and the will of God as it applies to daily life.  And remembering. It will be good.  But it’s not home.

A bit later I plan to see my girlfriend in Texas.  We’ll probably miss some sleep talking about healing hearts, raising kids, hearing God’s voice, and chatting about whatever else girlfriends do.  It will be good.  But it’s not home.

I live with my children in suburbia.  We sing, play, laugh, work, talk, cry and pray together.  We talk about how to know God and let our lights shine.  Sometimes we stay up too late doing any or all of those things.  We’ve personalized this space we live in.  I have friends here who have known me off and on throughout the past 25 years.  I’ve made new friends who are very dear to me.  It’s good.  But, it’s not home.

“And I heard a loud voice from heaven saying, “Behold, the tabernacle of God is with men, and He will dwell with them, and they shall be His people.  God Himself will be with them and be their God.”  Revelation 21:3  THAT…. yes, that will be home.

Dear Father in Heaven, thank You that You give us the privilege of experiencing snippets of what heaven will be like.  It gives us a tiny taste of what we have coming.  But, God, it doesn’t fill the bill entirely.  We can’t WAIT to get HOME.  Can You hurry?

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Buffy Halvorsen

     /  February 22, 2011

    I long for Home everyday. I have lots of places that I love filled with people who have been part of my life, but I long for my heart’s home with you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

