A Daddy’s Love

I laid on the couch after a long day of travel.  My dad in his home office clicking away on the computer.  My mom at her desk clicking away on her computer.  And I settled into the silence of it all, letting it soothe my soul.  There was much I wanted to talk about, but the words could come later, after the calming quiet. 

Home.  A place where I don’t have to prove anything to anybody.  Home.  A place where I can just exist.  Home.  A place where I am loved because of and in spite of who I am.

We’ve never been a family who has spoken our affection in words much.  Instead, I see it when my dad gets up in the middle of the night to keep the fire going so nobody gets cold.  Or when he orders a large hot fudge sundae when I asked for a small just because he thinks I might enjoy more- knowing some of it might go in the trash.  Or when he drove 20 hours one way to be with me while I picked out a funeral home.  Or when he used some of his prime fishing season to help me clean my garage because I was ready but unable to do it alone.

My dad- my most faithful cheering section, my most thought-provoking challenger of my ideas, faithful, enduring, stead-fast, patient, wise, self-sacrificing, tolerant, dedicated, even-tempered, optimistic, and cause for a lot of laughs with his sense of humor.  I think he knows without my saying that he is all those things to me.  And he’ll be reminded of it when he hears me whisper, “Love you, too, Dad” when I leave.

So I was laying on the couch soaking it all in and thinking, “My dad.  He knows more about me than anybody else on this planet.  And he loves me still.”  And another thought washed over me, “God knows you better.  And He loves you more.  Find your peace in Him.” 

“God has bound our hearts to Him by unnumbered tokens in heaven and in earth.  Through the things in nature, and the deepest and tenderest earthly ties that human hearts can know, He has sought to reveal Himself to us.  Yet these but imperfectly represent His love.” SC p. 7

“As the inspired apostle John beheld the height, the depth, the breadth of the Father’s love toward the perishing race, he was filled with adoration and reverence; and, failing to find suitable language in which to express the greatness and tenderness of this love, he called upon the world to behold it.  “Behold, what manner of love the Father hath bestowed upon us, that we should be called the sons of God!” 1 John 3:1″ SC p. 11

“Dear Father, thank You for letting me behold Your love in so many ways.  Thank You for adopting me as Your child.  Let the significance of that wash over me today and soak into the fiber of my soul.  May I be so saturated with You that You flow out onto those around me today.”

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Mark S. Williamson

     /  February 24, 2011

    When are you going to write a book.
    You write well

    Reply

Leave a Reply

