Slay the Dragon

Ugh!  Grief!  Not only did I live with Grief for more than two years, but I nurtured it.  I cared for it.  I prayed for it to be prolonged.  I loved it.  I embraced it.  Then Jeff died.  And I left it like a speeding bullet.  I hated it.  I had had enough of it.  My grief counselor told me she usually nudges people to move on.  Not me.  No, she told me to stop and wallow in it a while.  She didn’t think I’d probably had enough of it.  Really??  I admit I tried to keep it on the porch much of the time.  But it would often come uninvited and crash my party -scattering my life like soap on oil.  For the most part it seems to have accepted its place in the bushes and now only lurks at the windows during special events. Its face is getting fainter with time.

However, while I was showing Grief out the front door, there was evidently an intruder at the back door.  I turned around and there was this hideous thing staring at me.  I had run from Grief.  This thing…. I needed to SLAY this thing!  I grabbed the nearest butcher knife and chased after it.  Unfortunately, I wasn’t watching where I was going and tripped and fell.  As I lay on the floor bleeding from the stab wound, I looked up at the dragon and noticed it proudly wore a name tag.  “Lonely”.  Nice. While I held pressure to my wound with one hand, I got my cell phone out and texted a couple of friends who I figured knew him .  “Oh, yeah.  That guy.  Yeah, you’ve got to love him.  He won’t go away until you like his company.”  Really??  I can’t just SLAY the thing and move on??  “Nope.  Sorry.  You’ve gotta’ love him.  Then he’ll slip away when you aren’t looking.”  This is some sick joke!

OK.  Here we go.  “Hey, Lonely.  Yeah, you.  I saw you lookin’ at me.  How’s about we have dinner?”  :/  Will that work?

Previous Post
Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Buffy Halvorsen

     /  February 23, 2011

    Yes, that Lonely – you have to sit with him alone, and finally he disintigrates. But the kicker is you have to be alone with him. You even have to embrace him….

    Reply
  2. Lori Harvey

     /  February 27, 2011

    LOL to both of you. Maybe that’s why I want to show Lonely the door. He stinks! If you figure him out, let me know. I’ve been trying to push him out a long time.

    Reply
    • Lori, possilby that’s the problem. Grief and Lonely evidently can’t be pushed like snow on your sidewalk. They have to melt in the warmth of the Son. Pray for summer, pull out the bathing suit, put on the lotion, and then maybe Lonely will run and hide. I know- it sounds poetic and lovely- but it’s about like sleeping on a bed of nails to live through.

      Reply
  3. Evelyn

     /  November 29, 2011

    I understand.

    Reply
  1. “Coming to Jesus” and other Colloquialisms « Cover With His Life

Leave a Reply

