Are You Ready for This?

December 2007 I had a dream.  My dream was to move to Bozeman, MT.  Well, when one party in a marriage has a dream that isn’t shared by the other party in the marriage, there is opportunity for growth.  We grew.  Our compromise- we’d work very hard at growing the business that we had started in Riverton and plan to relocate to Bozeman when Estelle reached 9th grade- 6 years down the road.  It wasn’t the time-frame I’d had in mind, but long-range dreams are good too.   We’d make it work. 

Part of the plan for growth in the business included purchasing a new office building on Main Street that could house a full-fledged shoe store and would have office space to rent out to visiting physicians.  First part of December we listed our office building for sale on a Friday.  On Monday we had and accepted an offer from a buyer.  Cash.  No inspections.  No wait.  Cash.  Done.  WOW!  That was exciting!  We already had the building on Main picked out.  Now we sat down with the builder to see how we could make that space work best for us.  After many late nights designing and redesigning, we decided, yes, this was the building for us.  December 17 we wrote our check for earnest money and made our offer.  It was accepted.  As long as our banker agreed, it was a done deal.

December 2007 Jeff was having some issues.  He’d been having issues for a while.  His stomach hurt, very severe at times – thought it was an “ulcer”.  He was buying pants with a larger waist size- thought he was “getting fat”.  He didn’t have as much energy- thought he was “getting out of shape”.   He’d gone hunting alone and had hardly been able to get his elk out to the truck.   He got winded very easily.  He came home from work and sat on the couch more often than he felt like working on projects.  That wasn’t Jeff.

December 17 Jeff got out of bed in the morning, got his towel from the closet where he hung it, and walked out the bedroom door to take his shower.  Next thing I heard was a thud.  I flew out of bed to find him laying half in the hall and half in Estelle’s room.  I then asked a most profound and thought-filled question.  “What are you doing?!”  He kindly overlooked my stupidity and said he must have just gotten up too fast.  OK, off to the shower.

I went back to bed and started musing over all those issues.   Hmm…. not making sense.  Too many issues.  So I made a request.  “You know, it’s been a few years since we’ve had our blood drawn.  You can get the health fair blood screening any time of the year now.  Twenty bucks or so and we can just make sure everything is A OK.  How about it?  Skip breakfast this morning, I’ll bring you something to eat when I come in, and let’s see what’s up.”   It wasn’t his idea of a good morning.  By that time he was sure the dog had tripped him up since she liked to lay in front of our door.  He had just fallen over the dog.  No need for blood tests.  But, he agreed to do it if that would make me happy.  I thought it would.  So he did.

The next day I was having clinic in Worland at Dr. Weaver’s office.  He happened to come by his office to do paper work that day.  I updated him on Jeff’s latest.   We hadn’t gotten his labs back yet.  “Well, why don’t you just call and get those faxed over here and I’ll take a look at them.”  So I called and requested the results – pulling a few doctor strings – rather than wait for them to come in the mail like most people.  The lab faxed them to my office instead of Dr. Weaver’s office so Jeff actually got them.  He called me to let me know they were on the way.  I watched as they came out of the fax machine, still talking with Jeff on the phone.  “I’m fine, aren’t I?  Told you there is nothing to worry about.”  “I have NO idea what is wrong, but you are SO NOT fine!!  Something is going on.  Your labs are WAY out of whack!  I’ve never seen any labs that look this bad.  Let me talk with Dr. Weaver and see what he wants to do.”  We decided to have Jeff come to the hospital Friday to have an endoscopy.  He must have a bleeding ulcer.  His hemoglobin was about half the usual along with a whole bunch of other abnormalities.  Easy fix.

Wednesday morning I decided we should check his labs again.  “I’ll go with you.  I haven’t had my blood drawn in a while either.  We’ll skip breakfast together.   And if everything is still about what it was Monday, we’ll wait till Friday.  If not, we call Dr. Weaver.”   Ughh!  I’m sure he wondered why he was married to a doctor at that point.  He reluctantly agreed.  But, really, he was fine.  “That’s great, Honey.  Glad you are fine.  But we’re getting our labs drawn.”  This time I requested they fax his labs right away.

His hemoglobin had dropped half a point since Monday.  I called Dr. Weaver.  “Get up here this afternoon.”  We started calling patients to cancel appointments.  One of the patients in the waiting room overhead.  “Are you sick?” they asked Jeff.  “Well, I don’t think so but everybody else seems to think so.  Just have to prove them wrong I guess or they won’t leave me alone.” 

I went to pick the kids up from school since Worland was 1 1/2 hours away.  I had no idea when we’d be back.  It was a day before Christmas break was to start.  “Mom, what are we doing?  Why are you here?  What’s going on?”  A million questions with few answers.  “Dad’s going to have a test done at the doctor.”

We got in the car.  I drove.  We were winding through the Wind River Canyon.  He took my hand.  “Are you ready for this?” he asked.  “I don’t know.  What is it?  If I knew what it was, I might know if I was ready.”  He thoughtfully paused and said “You never know what a day will bring.”

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Ruth Davis

     /  February 25, 2011

    Thanks for sharing your heart and your story. You have been such an inspiration to me. Praying that you will continue to feel God’s strength and peace in your life.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

