The Envelope

The envelope was tucked in the large stack of mail.  I didn’t stop by the rural post office box very often.  I didn’t have a job.  Medical visits were frequent.  Why bother getting the mail?  It would just have more bills.  There were the cards that came as well. They were easy to spot with their colorful envelopes and odd shape.  They were most appreciated.  But this envelope caught my attention.  Hand-written address.  Business sized with security lining.  No return address.  Post mark from Casper, WY – it could have come from a lot of different cities with that post mark.  It was thick and heavy.  I got in my car and opened it up.   My thoughts stopped momentarily.  That’s saying something right there.

Inside the plain envelope was a stack of money – cash – large denominations.  “God, who sent this to me??”  No answer from Him.  I just stared at it.  What do I do with this?  Well, first stop, give 10% to God.  I knew that much.  I kept the rest in the envelope and put it in a drawer.  I’d save it.  For what, I wasn’t sure.

Over the next few months more money came in the mail.  Some large checks, some small, and some cash.  And each time God moved on someone’s heart to share with us, I would pull out that envelope and take 10% to give to God.  It never seemed quite right.  And one day I had some words with God about.

“God, this really doesn’t feel like I am giving You Your tithe.”

“Yes, you are.”  He replied that time.

“But, You gave me this money.  I didn’t earn it.  And now I’m using it to give You tithe.”

“And where do you think the rest of your money comes from?”

“Oh….  Yeah….  You…?”

He winked.  “There you go, My daughter.  Now you’re catching on.”

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

