What’s Your Name?

I mused as I ironed my lab coat this morning.  For years I’ve been told I really should have them pressed by the laundromat and by all means have my name embroidered on them.  It’s been more than a year since I’ve heard it.  Not because I now do those things, but because there’s nobody who cares enough about that detail of my life to tell me so anymore.  I know most doctors do it.  But the way I figure, my name is in the newspaper and phone book, on my office door and business card, and I introduce myself as I walk in the exam room.  Anything beyond that would be pure redundancy.  And they must know what it is I do, or they wouldn’t be in my office in the first place.  So really, my name and title stamped on my lab coat would only be informative to the laundromat employee.  If I really want them to know, I can just drop off a business card.

How about putting something important on my coat?  Like “Disciple of Christ”?  Or “Mom”?  “Mission Volunteer”?  “Cancer Survivor”?  – it’s a family disease and all but one of us survived.  Or “Hopeful Dreamer”? – that one could have a whole bunch of subtitles.  Or how about the new name that God will give me someday?  What will that be?  Maybe “Fully Submitted” instead of “Submitting”, or “Fulfilled One” instead of “Searching”, “Prompt One” instead of “Procrastinator”, “Healed” instead of “Wounded”, “Whole” instead of “Fractured”,  “Clear Vision” instead of “Foggy View”, “Reflector” instead of “Failed Internal Combustion” or “Immortal” instead of “Mortal”.  The name He has chosen for me will be like everything else He has waiting – better than I could have ever imagined.

What would you put on your lab coat?  What will your new name be?

“Then He who sat on the throne said, “Behold, I make all things new.” And He said to me, “Write, for these words are true and faithful.”” Revelation 21:5

“Dear God, I know You’ve promised that as I behold You, I will be changed.  But I’m looking forward to that moment, that twinkling of an eye, when I can finally see You for who You really are and the change will be completed.  Thank You that You are faithful and true.  You cannot lie.  And You will make all things new.”

Next Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Jon

     /  March 2, 2011

    “No longer do I call you servants, for a servant does not know what his master is doing; but I have called you FRIENDS, for all things that I heard from my Father I have made known to you. ” John 15:15

    Thank God for FRIENDS!!!…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

