It’s Too Bad

I had a patient tell me today that he waited to come in because he was embarrassed.  He thought his foot problem was “too bad” and I might be judgemental about it.  He tried to fix the problem himself before his appointment so it wouldn’t look so bad when I saw him.  That sounds kind of silly since that’s exactly what I’m here for – to help fix the problem.  If a person waits until the problem is fixed, there’s no reason to come see me.  I specialize in “weird” feet or “bad” things.  That’s what I see all day.  “Normal” feet don’t show up in my office.

But it’s not uncommon for people to think their problem is “too bad” to be seen.  I remember a lady I saw during my residency who did the same thing.  She was a diabetic and had had an amputation a couple of years previous on the right leg because of infection.  She started getting a sore spot on a toe of the left foot several months before we saw her.  She didn’t tell anyone about the sore because she was afraid that the left leg would be amputated also.  She thought it was too bad.  She never told.  Her family finally noticed that she never took her shoe or sock off of the left foot, and…her house started to have a peculiar smell.  She ended up in our clinic.  Sadly it was too late and too bad by the time she came to see us.  Her left leg had to be removed in order to save her life.  What a shame!  It all started with a corn that could have been treated very simply if she’d have just come in when it started.

God’s job is to clean us, fill us, and heal us while we visit and walk with Him.  Why do we think we need to do it ourselves before we come to Him?

“And when the scribes and Pharisees saw Him eating with the tax collectors and sinners, they said to His disciples, “How is it that He eats and drinks with tax collectors and sinners?”  When Jesus heard it, He said to them, “Those who are well have no need of a physician, but those who are sick. I did not come to call the righteous, but sinners, to repentance.”  Mark 2: 16, 17

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

