Do You OWN It?

I’ve been asked on occasion to talk to different groups.  It’s usually an elderly bunch and they always want to know about feet.  Their questions and interests are pretty predictable for me by now.  They want to know why their toes are curling, their feet are getting wider, and their toenails are thicker.  They want to know what they can do to keep walking and stay healthy.  They want to know any tricks I might have to help them avoid surgery and be more comfortable.  They have lots of questions and I have lots of answers.  After my talk I usually hear how informative, enlightening and sometimes entertaining they found it to be.  They appreciate my coming.  I don’t take any notes with me.  The information is in my head.  After four years of podiatry school, a year of residency and 13 years of practice, I OWN it. 

I gave a sermon several years ago.  Well, I’m not sure you can actually call it that.  I read something from the pulpit on a Sabbath morning that I had prepared.  All twenty or so of us survived the approximately 25 minutes of reading.  Anyone could have read it.  I wrote it, but it wasn’t MINE.  I didn’t OWN it.

Do you have a story you can tell for Christ?  Do you OWN it?

Next Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Jon

     /  April 7, 2011

    Yes! and the more I tell it the more I posess it…and it posesses me. PTL

    Reply
    • Good point. It is interesting how the more we give, the more we have. We can never out-give the Lord. He’s an unending fountain.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

