My Treasure

For the most part, I’m not much of a treasure keeper.  If it’s not useful, I’m likely to pitch it.  If my house started on fire, I’d probably open a couple of windows to create a draft and hope my neighbors waited a while to call the fire department.  It sure would uncomplicate my life in some ways if all that “stuff” was gone.

But I have a treasure.  I wear it on my arm.  It’s a watch given to me at Christmas in 2009.  It’s the most costly gift I’ve ever been given.  But that’s not what makes it a treasure.  It’s engraved on the back.   The giver told me what he wanted it to say, but was never able to get out of the house to get it done.  I did it for him, per his instructions, after he died.  It has a term of endearment and a Bible verse, “My God shall supply all your need.”  I treasure it.  Some of my friends say it’s so important I should get a different watch to wear and keep this one at home so it doesn’t get damaged.  I say it’s so important I will wear it everywhere. Why would I leave it at home?  It’s a treasure.  If for some reason it got thrown out with the garbage, I’d go dumpster diving to retrieve it.  The watch means that much to me.  If it was covered with debris from the garbage, I’d still claim it and clean it up and put it back on my arm.  It’s a treasure.  If it stopped working, I’d have it repaired.  It’s a treasure.

You are a treasure.  Someone went dumpster diving on this dingy planet to claim you as His own.  He wants you with Him all the time.  He even died to give you that right.  Unlike the watch, you have a choice in the matter.  Will you claim your treasure status?

“Behold what manner of love the Father has bestowed upon us, that we should be called the children of God.”  1 John 3:1

Previous Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Connie

     /  April 7, 2011

    Thank you!

    Reply
    • His bona fide treasure, Connie. Today and always….even yesterday. And that is possibly the coolest part. 🙂

      Reply
  2. Holding On

     /  December 6, 2011

    Amen and Amen, I agree wear your watch everywhere.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

