The Unknown

“I’ll go get the instrument I need and be right back to fix that up for you,” I said with my hand on the exam room door.  It was then she decided to ask what had been on her mind for many years. 

“Why do my feet burn on the bottom?” 

“Do you have back problems?”  There are a hundred different things that could cause one’s feet to burn.  Why I asked about that one first, I do not know.  It’s not the question I usually start with. 

“Yes.  Really bad.  Ever since the tornado.”

I shut the door and sat down with her.  “Sounds like there’s a story there,” I said.  Her eyes immediately brimmed with tears.  It had been in the late ’50’s but it was like yesterday for her.  She talked.  I listened.  “Sometimes I think it’s best we don’t always know what’s coming in life,” I said when she’d finished, “or we might choose not to do it.”  She agreed.

I know the feeling.  I’ve been there in life.  Before Jeff’s first liver resection we didn’t ask many questions about the details.  What did it matter?  It had to be done.  We learned more while sitting in my surgeon’s office trying to pick a time for me to have a procedure that needed done.  I thought it would be good to have mine right after Jeff’s so I could be home with him while we both recovered.  The surgeon looked at us like we were insane.  “You realize you won’t be able to lift more than 10 pounds for 2 weeks, don’t you?” he asked me.

“Yeah,” I shrugged.  I didn’t think a paint roller would weigh more than that when fully loaded.  I was looking forward to it.  I had plans for my “time off.”

“Do you realize how big of a procedure Jeff is going to have?”  Our blank stares must have answered his question.  He continued on.  “There really isn’t a bigger procedure done in modern medicine.  We either do your surgery several weeks before his or at least six weeks after.  Not at the same time.”  We left his office wondering what we were getting in to with the liver surgery.  A year later when we had to decide a second time what to do with that spot in Jeff’s liver, the decision was much harder.  We knew too much.

I’m thankful God lets us know the general idea of what’s going to happen in this old world of ours.  But I’m also thankful He leaves out the details.  Our faith builds as we walk with Him through life’s experience.  If we were told of tomorrow’s trials while holding our faith of today, we might buckle.  He is so good to prepare us for tomorrow one step at a time.  While the unknown can be frightening, sometimes it is best left that way.

I don’t know about tomorrow,
I just live from day to day.
I don’t borrow from it’s sunshine,
For it’s skies may turn to gray.
I don’t worry o’er the future,
For I know what Jesus said,
And today I’ll walk beside Him,
For He knows what is ahead.

 Many things about tomorrow,
I don’t seem to understand;
But I know Who holds tomorrow,
And I know Who holds my hand.

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Jon

     /  April 14, 2011

    Wonderful…thank you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

