A Big, Big House

“Come and go with me, to my Father’s house.  It’s a big, big house, with lots and lots of room.  A big, big house, with a big, big yard!”

It was hot.  Thank heavens for the shade of the one-day church structure.  There were no sides on it to block the wind that made miniature tornado swirls of dirt from the ground, but it provided shade.  Over two hundred kids came that day.  It was the last day.  We had sung our songs, said our welcomes, and now it was story time.  The story was about Jesus coming back in the sky to take us to His home.  It took twice as long to tell since it had to be translated into Spanish for the Honduran children.  But it was a good story.  It was a story full of good news.

We were in a small village.  I’d seen what they called “homes” in the village.  They might have cement floors – or dirt.  They might have metal siding – or cardboard walls.  There were usually lots of people and no beds – just a hammock.  Interior walls?  None.  Bathroom?  Outside.  Chickens?  Inside.  Personal space?  What’s that

The missionary volunteer was telling them how God’s house is sooo big.  They’ll each have their own place!  And there will be food – lots of it.  Everyone will have everything they need so no one will steal from anyone else. 

That means something to them! I thought.  I think it means more to them than I will ever appreciate.

We have so much. Do we sometimes forget there’s something much more?  much better?  more fulfilling than all our stuff?  Do we forget what we’re really here for?  Do we forget about His big, big house?

“Don’t let this throw you. You trust God, don’t you? Trust me. There is plenty of room for you in my Father’s home. If that weren’t so, would I have told you that I’m on my way to get a room ready for you? And if I’m on my way to get your room ready, I’ll come back and get you so you can live where I live.”  John 14:1-3 The Message

Dear God, I can’t wait to see my room in Your house! 

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

