Enlisting Local Reps

“Rrrrrr!!!”  I growled in writing.  I don’t have to say much for my friend to understand.  He not only speaks the language of grief, but we have the same accent.  He is a widow.  I never expect to hear from him for a while after I write.  He’s not a frequent flyer in the electronic world.  I don’t think he has a fancy for chatter.

He texted me the other morning.  He hoped I was doing better since my last growl several days before.  “God loves and cares for you,” he typed.

“I know He does,” I responded.  “I just wish He had a local rep who could tell me in person sometimes.”

At that point in the conversation, if I was God, there would have been a booming voice in the sky that would have said, “I don’t ‘do’ whine.”  He really has provided for my needs.  I have nothing to complain about.  But thankfully, I’m not God.  He’s more kind, gentle and compassionate than I am.  He gave my friend words to say that were much softer than I would have given him. 

“Sometimes His reps live a few states away.  But I’m sure there are a few near you too.”

He was right.  I went to church and met several reps in the hallway who paused from what they were doing to say, “Hey- it’s good to see you here today.”

We are God’s hands to minister to each other.  We are His voice to speak.  We are His presence to be with someone who is hurting.  We bring His compassion to a lost and dying world.  Have you been a local rep for your Father today?  It’s a family affair – God’s family.

“And let us not grow weary while doing good, for in due season we shall reap if we do not lose heart.  Therefore, as we have opportunity, let us do good to all, especially to those who are of the household of faith.”  Galations 6: 9, 10

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. It’s really nice when there is a local rep around.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

