My Shadow

I had a shadow at work the other day.  No, we didn’t change the lighting and there wasn’t a hole in the roof.  I had someone “tagging along” behind me to see what life as a podiatrist is like.  Isaac contacted me to ask if he could come and see.  He came and saw.  And we talked.

In the course of the day we discovered we are both Christians.  So we talked about how being a Christian changes how you do what you do, whatever it is that you do.  And we talked about loving people and serving them.  And we talked about priorities that might impact one’s decisions of what to do in life and where one might live.  And he said, “I know one thing.  I’m not going to live back there!” – referring to his home town.  I just smiled.  I’ve said similar things.  “I’ll go anywhere but there!” 

While Jeff was fighting cancer, I found the need to be more closely connected to other people.  The internal pain drove me to seek release.  My girlfriends became very important.  I needed a couple of people there for me with whom I could process my thoughts.  Sheila was often that person.  I’d call her up and we’d chat or we’d go to lunch or meet somewhere for a half hour of conversation.  I remember one particularly hot, sunny day the summer of 2009.  We met at the trendy juice shop near my house.  We sat outside on the wire-mesh chairs, sipping tea under the big umbrella with a slight breeze blowing in our faces.  As I bemoaned the place I found myself, she imparted words of wisdom.  “Guess what, Honey,” she said.  She always tries to sweeten the taste of some bad news with “honey”.  She continued on, “You are not in charge.”  We talked it over and were in agreement.  I needed to have a shirt made that said, “I am SO not in charge!” just in case I had amnesia one day and forgot.

I thought about telling that to my shadow.  But decided he could learn the hard way like the rest of us.  Let him dream for now.  Let him plan.  Life will teach him soon enough.  Someday he’ll find out… he’s not in charge.

“We can make our plans, but the LORD determines our steps.”  Proverbs 16:9 NLT

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

