Word Power

On my way to Lima, Peru I started an experiment.  I wrote down some words to describe some of the things I expected to see and experience.  Then, after the trip, I went back over my list to see how the words might change.  The words that follow in black are the ones I came up with on my way.  The words in blue or the strike-throughs indicate the changes I made after the trip.

  • Climate: hot, drippy, humid, sticky, engulfing
  • River: Wide, slow, muddy, massive, swift in areas
  • Alligators: stealthy, beady eyes, jagged teeth, tough skin, powerful tail, stalking Never saw one in the wild.
  • Market: colorful, pungent, aromatic, noisy, confusing, raw, cultural
  • Sabbath: harmony, shoes at the door, music, their best, hard benches, Jesus, shaky building on stilts
  • Machu Picchu: massive, damp, cool in the morning, awesome marriage of God’s majesty and man’s workmanship, quiet, punctuation of temporary state of man’s earthly existence, bustling with countless tourists
  • Village clinic: inadequacy, language barrier, needs are so great, overwhelming, poor, dirt poor, tattered clothes, toothless smiles, gratefulness, hand fans, baby bottles, long lines, public breastfeeding
  • The Anaconda: ginormous, slowly slithering
  • Boat rides: an adventure in haphazard flotation devices (never felt that unsafe really), swinging on the top deck in a hammock
  • Orphanage: hope in the midst of hurt, a healing place, refuge
  • Insects: carnivorous, ravenous, herd mentality, bugs on steroids

    On the Amazon

There were other things I encountered that I never thought to mention prior to my trip.  With more research to prepare myself better, the words would have been even more accurate and the list more complete.  Despite the level of accuracy or inaccuracy, the depth of meaning for myself is entirely different now because I’ve been there and done that.  It is a personal experience now, not just information.  The same is true of a walk with Christ.  You can learn all about it and even have the words to tell someone else about Him.  But unless you’ve had a personal experience with Christ, the depth of meaning given to the words cannot be there.  I believe heaven will be the same way.  Even if we had the words to describe it, we’d miss the meaning entirely.

“Eye has not seen, nor ear heard, nor have entered into the heart of man the things which God has prepared for those who love Him.” 1 Corinthians 2:9

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

