Seasonal Weather

“Are you always this spontaneous?” I was asked as I drove five hours to meet someone for an ice-cream cone.

Yummy!

That’s a hard question for me.  Who am I?  Am I spontaneous?  Who I am has not been a question that has been given much thought for most of my adult life.  Especially during the cancer years the only question that required answering was, “What is it that I need to do?”  In fact its importance made all other questions obsolete and irrelevant.  It didn’t matter who I was or what I wanted.  I just had to do it.

I was sitting at Taco Inn with my friend Sheila during the latter part of the cancer years.  We had met for lunch and conversation.  While we were eating, a man stopped by to say hello to her.  After he left, I continued on with my thoughts.  She interrupted me with a twinkle in her eye.  “Do you know him?” she asked.  “Nope,” I answered.  “I’ll introduce you sometime….later,” she replied with the same twinkle. Then she continued talking,  “Listen, Honey, I know you feel like you are going to be in this same place for the rest of your life.  But you won’t.  Seasons change.”

Here’s to the changing weather.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. jon

     /  July 26, 2011

    Thank God for the ‘seasons’ of life…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

