Take Cover

My kids like to watch The Weather Channel.  We’ve got Sky Angel instead of the usual TV options of the networks, cable or Dish.  I appreciate the security of knowing there’s only so much trouble they can get in with the TV when I’m not around.  It’s all pretty harmless.

One of their favorite shows on The Weather Channel is Storm Stories.  We had it on last night and in the particular episode we were watching there was a fellow who said he heard the storm coming so ran outside with his video camera.  “Idiot!”  my daughter added her commentary.  “If you heard it coming, why wouldn’t you run into the basement?  Not OUTSIDE!”

I take Cover more quickly now than I have in the past.  It used to require gale-force winds to prompt me to seek Shelter.  Now I find myself running for Cover when there is a fairly mild disturbance in the atmosphere.  As I grow in Christ, I pray that I will one day crave the sanctuary of His Cover even on a sunny day.

You are my hiding place;
You shall preserve me from trouble;
You shall surround me with songs of deliverance.  Selah  Psalm 32:7 NKJV

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

