Give Me More

He’s a scientific-gadget guy.  If it causes my son to ask, “How does it do that?” he’ll want me to buy it for him.  Inquiring minds want to know.  He has an inquiring mind that seems to see nearly everything through an evidently invisible, yet very individualized, pair of glasses with a color of lens I have never looked through.  His unique perspective and inquisitive nature will serve him well as an adult, I’m certain.  Until that time, he leaves me wishing for an instruction manual on how to raise a limited-edition, scientific-gadget guy.

Summer is a relatively boring time for my son.  For the most part, unlike during the school year, there is no one handing him information all day about “How does it do that”.  So, during the summer he especially thrives on shopping.  Not clothes shopping.  Not grocery shopping.  No, he’s a dedicated toy or electronic department shopper.  Either area works about equally well for him.  “Oh, cool, Mom! Can I get that?”  I think he’s probably done some sort of analysis on my prior behavior and calculated the approximate percentage of times I will say yes.  It’s evidently frequent enough that it’s worth his bother to ask if he can get nearly every interesting gadget he sees.

I have asked him on more than one occasion, “Will this be the ticket?  Will this one do the trick?  Will this be all that you’ve ever dreamed of and satisfy your longing?”  My children tend to get annoyed when I get philosophical while shopping.  The answer ultimately is just going to be yes or no, so why not start with that and skip all the other stuff?  But I figure if I’m annoying my children, I’m probably doing somewhat of a decent job of parenting.  So I annoy them.  “If you get just this one last gadget, will it provide the happy summer you are searching for?”  “I think it will,” he’d reply.  Obviously he had to answer that way or what was the point of his asking for it at all.  “What about the Fushigi ball that you don’t even want to keep in your room anymore but you just had to have?  I thought that was going to be the ticket.”  “Well, it didn’t work like the box showed that it would.”  “What makes you think this one will work any better than that one did?” “It just looks like it will.  Please?  Can I get it?”  “Maybe not, maybe so.  But more important you need to learn that happiness doesn’t come in a box.”

The "More" that didn't Satisfy

Listen up, friends.  Happiness doesn’t come in a box.  Or a bag.  Or a relationship.  Or a dream vacation.  Or a person.  Or a new truck, tool or toy.  Of course the outcome of my son’s summer did not ultimately rest on the decision of whether or not I bought him the latest gadget he wanted on that given day.  It’s easy to see that.  But we don’t always so easily recognize those same traits in ourselves.  We don’t necessarily grow out of that desire for “more” as much as we might think we do.  We might actually think “If only I had that, life would be all I’d ever desired.”

I don’t think God necessarily expects us to grow out of wanting more. “He has made everything beautiful in its time. Also He has put eternity in their hearts, except that no one can find out the work that God does from beginning to end.”  Ecclesiastes 3:11 NKJV.    He has given us a desire for eternity, which is a desire we will never have satisfied while on this earth.  It’s OK to want more.  We just have to remember there’s only One source for the “more” we crave.  It is Jesus.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Holding On

     /  August 17, 2011

    oh how true, thank you for sharing

    Reply

Leave a Reply

