Birthday Time

She’s so excited.  It’s almost her day.  It’s a biggie in the life of a child.  And it will soon be here.  She was born just two days after her daddy turned 30.  Yep, that means his birthday will soon be here, too.  What will we do this year?  We haven’t talked about it – yet.  I’m not fond of elephants stomping around the room, so we will.

It’s been about 20 months.  I had to stop and count this time.  It’s not a tally that is constantly ticking in the front of my mind anymore.  These aren’t “firsts” for us anymore.  But they are still there.  They always will be.

I’m grateful I’m a widow.  That probably sounds shocking, but if I had a choice as to how I was to become single again, I’d choose to be the widow of a person who had a chronic disease.  I would choose the path I was given.  Through the experience I saw him grow.  I saw myself grow.  I saw many people around us grow.  I see people grow even now because of what occurred then.  We had time to say what needed to be said.  He did not choose to walk away from me or the kids. We were not abandoned nor rejected.  I don’t go to bed at night and wonder if he’s thinking of me.  I don’t turn on the radio and wonder if he remembers “us” when he hears a song.  I don’t order ice-cream and wonder if he orders the same flavor just because he remembers I like it.  I don’t wonder if he will call some day and tell me he still loves me. There has not been a single word added to the record of our relationship these past twenty months.  There may be new ways to consider old things, but there are no new things to consider.  His thoughts are no more. He is no more.  And God is good.

Presenting God’s goodness in a way that is truthful and real to a young lady who has experienced the loss of her daddy whom she adored is a challenging task.  Surely an enemy has done this – an enemy who roams about seeking whom he may devour.  And God is so good, good beyond measure, that He will let this whole show-down between good and evil play out to its bitter end.  Then when all the pieces to the puzzle of this world fit together, we will see, all will see, and proclaim that He is righteous and holy and good – all the time.

God has not left me.  He will never leave me nor forsake me.  It will be a ~HaPpY bIrThDaY~!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. Lori Harvey

     /  November 5, 2011

    Oh, friend. Your way with words is truly a blessing. Thank you.

    Reply
    • My friend, I am glad you were blessed. One day this dark film will be removed from our eyes and we will understand.

      Reply
  2. Brenda Herrick

     /  November 5, 2011

    It will be a Happy Birthday! November 20 will always give us pause for memories but November 22 will bring excitement for a bright future yet to unfold.

    Reply
  3. Holding On

     /  November 5, 2011

    God’s truth and Love is so clearly seen in your writing. To be able to see God’s Love and Mercy in your life just 20 months later is such a testimony to your ability to let go and let God.

    Reply
    • Holding On, I don’t always feel what other people see. But I am a very stubborn believer. “If that is the case, our God whom we serve is able to deliver us from the burning fiery furnace, and He will deliver us from your hand, O king. But if not, let it be known to you, O king, that we do not serve your gods, nor will we worship the gold image which you have set up.” Daniel 3:17-18. I want to grow up to be like them.

      Reply
  4. Holding On

     /  November 6, 2011

    Those 3 for sure had the what some would call “unshakeable Faith”. I to want to have that kind of Faith to be willing to die at all cost.

    Reply
  5. Karen Fandrich

     /  November 6, 2011

    Sylvia, you are an amazingly strong woman! It’s because you serve an even more amazing and strong God. What a beautiful message of hope. Soon and very soon we are going to see the King.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

