I Saw Jesus

I was not exactly sure where I was going.  I had a lunch date at a restaurant I’d never been, in a part of town I rarely go.  Downtown.  As I rounded the corner a parking spot opened up.  Gold.  I hadn’t seen the restaurant yet but I was sure it was near.  I’d take the spot. Walking back toward the intersection, I saw him sitting at the edge of the sidewalk holding his cardboard sign.  A beggar. I was disgusted.  “Why can’t he go to the mission?  There are people to help, beds to sleep on and food to eat.  Why does he have to come litter the city with his cardboard sign?” My thoughts invaded my good day and I moved toward the other side of the sidewalk.

After a tasty lunch, entertaining stories and laughter, I headed back to my car.  The beggar was still there.  But as I passed I caught sight of another younger man nearby.  He had a backpack and was rummaging around in it with one hand.  The other hand was extended out toward the beggar.  “Could you use these?” the man asked, offering a toothbrush and toothpaste.  “Oh yes,” replied the beggar, his voice enthusiastic.  And I felt a pang of envy at that moment.  I wished I saw the world through the eyes of the man with the backpack. I wished I had brought a gift for Jesus.

“For I was hungry and you gave me something to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me something to drink, I was a stranger and you invited me in, I needed clothes and you clothed me, I was sick and you looked after me, I was in prison and you came to visit me.” Matthew 25: 35, 36 NIV

Have you seen Jesus recently?  What gift did you bring?

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. this is convicting. I know I’ve seen people with needs and walked on. I’ve also helped some. I don’t always get it right, but that young man gave a practical gift. Helping is probably easier than we think it might be.

    Reply
    • Joy, it was very convicting for me to experience. A friend suggested getting packets together with simple supplies and keeping them in my car to be handed out as needed. Great idea.

      Reply
  2. Carol

     /  April 4, 2012

    With your permission, I would like to share this with friends who work on the Homeless Coalition.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

