Shaping the Dough

“Mom, this is not working,” my son stated as he tried in vain to get the small round ball of dough to fill the pizza pan.

“It will work,” I replied. “You just have to be slow and gentle with it. If you push or pull it too hard or fast it tends to go back to its original shape. But if you gently and repeatedly work with it, sooner or later it will spread out like you want it to.” Then after a pause, “Oh, wow! I think there is a life lesson in there for me somewhere.”

making-pizza-dough-03

My son rolled his eyes…and groaned.

“Oh, brother! A lesson…. Why do you always look for the moral to a story? ‘Oh, that was a good movie – it taught about this or that,'” he said mimicking me. “Why can’t you ever just watch a movie for entertainment? Why does there always have to be a lesson?”

And then I smiled. Yay!! Someday when he thinks back on his childhood, he’s going to remember… there was a lesson. I’m sure over the course of the next 10 years this momentary feeling of success will frequently slip from my mind. But for now, I’m going to bask in it.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. Finding a lesson…I think we are sisters, Sylvia! God speaks to us in a myriad of ways, doesn’t He? 😉

    Reply
  2. You’re right, he’s going to remember it. His kids will hear, “Your Grandmother would always say…” Good job, Mom!

    Reply
  3. Too funny! My kids have a similar reaction at times…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

