I Understand

I have heard the story so many times over the past 15+ years, I admit I have to force myself to ask for more information after the words “Heel pain” are spoken. Ninety-five percent of the time it turns out to be the same, common problem: Plantar fasciitis.  I know it hurts. I’ve heard the story, seen them wince, watched them limp. It hurts.  I know.

Last spring I went on a class trip with my daughter. It involved a lot of walking on cement. I was wearing good shoes. I can’t say why I “deserved” the pain, but it started. Just a twinge at first but intensifying as I did what I tell all my patients not to do. I wore those cute sandals – and my heel hurt worse – and the sandals matched my outfits – and I kept wearing them. I finally took my own advice and quit wearing them. But, wow! It hurts! I KNOW!

heel pain

I don’t know how you view God. But I am very comforted by the fact that Jesus lived here on earth. He faced trials. He had difficulties. His feet got dirty walking down the roads.  He needed to eat and sleep.  He had to prioritize. He had people say and do unkind things to Him. He needed to be refreshed. On the cross He was separated from His father and felt the pain of separation from the Source of Life. He was all God, but all person. He KNOWS.

“For we do not have a high priest who cannot sympathize with our weaknesses, but One who has been tempted in all things as we are, yet without sin.” Hebrews 4:15 NASB

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

