Whatsoever Things

We know the drill…

“Whatsoever things are true, whatsoever things are honest, whatsoever things are just, whatsoever things are pure, whatsoever things are lovely, whatsoever things are of good report; if there be any virtue, and if there be any praise, think on these things.” Philippians 4:8

Having trouble with your thoughts? Do that. We’ve heard it. We know it. And we feel inadequate and ashamed when we can’t do it.

whatsoever-things-are-lovley-copy

But I didn’t quote the text quite right. I left off the first two words- and perhaps those are the words most essential to successfully implementing the text.

“Finally, brethren…”

Finally. Finally, after all these other things. After you’ve gotten to know Jesus. After you’ve devoted your life to Him. After you’ve seen His power in your life and know He is real. After you have been willing to give all for Him. Then. Then you are ready for what I want to tell you next.

Brethren. Friends. Co-travelers. Bonded together deeper than blood. Here within this community of support. Shared with deep regard and compassion. “I get it. I’ve been there. I know where you’re at. I understand the journey. I’m not just telling you what to do. I’m in it with you. I’d do anything for you. This instruction will bring such positive change to your life, I can’t restrain myself from telling you what has been helpful for me on my journey. Now here it is, my friends.”

Now it’s not a drill. Now it’s not a check list filled with condemnation. Now it’s meaningful and filled with abundant life.

Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

